The ‘Rocket Man’ is at it again!

Sir Elton John and Interscope Records announced yesterday via social media (@EltonOfficial) his upcoming, 32nd studio album ‘ The Lockdown Sessions’, out October 22nd of this year! This announcement accompanied by the album front and back; a picture of Elton wearing his “ELTON” mask and on the back, the track list. 

The music legend was quoted yesterday saying “The last thing I expected to do during lockdown was make an album. But, as the pandemic went on, one‐off projects kept cropping up.”

The anticipation now begins to build as we await the release in under 2 months!

‘The Lockdown Session’ is comprised of collaborations with artists of every ilk and style. From the late Glen Campbell, to Stevie Nicks and Stevie Wonder to Miley Cyrus and Eddie Vedder, the ‘Sessions’ are packed with 16 tracks, all recorded and produced during lockdown; something the legend has never experimented with. 

He added “Some of the recording sessions had to be done remotely, via Zoom, which I’d obviously never done before. Some of the sessions were recorded under very stringent safety regulations: working with another artist, but separated by glass screens. But all the tracks I worked on were really interesting and diverse, stuff that was completely different to anything I’m known for, stuff that took me out of my comfort zone into completely new territory. And I realized there was something weirdly familiar about working like this.”

Here is the track list he released:

  1. Elton & Dua Lipa – “Cold Heart (PNAU Remix)”
  2. Elton, Young Thug & Nicki Minaj – “Always Love You”
  3. Surfaces featuring Elton John – “Learn to Fly”
  4. Elton & Charlie Puth – “After All”
  5. Rina Sawayama & Elton – “Chosen Family”
  6. Gorillaz featuring Elton & 6LACK – “The Pink Phantom”
  7. Elton & Years & Years – “It’s a Sin (Global Reach Mix)”
  8. Miley Cyrus featuring WATT, Elton, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo & Chad Smith – “Nothing Else Matters”
  9. Elton & SG Lewis – “Orbit”
  10. Elton & Brandi Carlile – “Simple Things”
  11. Jimmie Allen & Elton – “Beauty in the Bones”
  12. Lil Nas X featuring Elton – “One of Me”
  13. Elton & Eddie Vedder – “E-Ticket”
  14. Elton & Stevie Wonder – “Finish Line”
  15. Elton & Stevie Nicks – “Stolen Car”
  16. Glen Campbell & Elton – “I’m Not Gonna Miss You”

All the information for the album and anything Elton John, is available on his website – Click HERE!


Recently Played on 97 Rock